Print

Blog Post Detail

Too Good To Be True...

"If it's too good to be true, then it probably isn't true." This is a good rule of thumb to use when shopping for a "deal" online. We recently found a deal that you couldn't pass up. It was a 2008 Yamaha Rhino ATV in immaculate condition for only $2,500.00. After research showed us by searching on eBay and other sites, this ATV was going for $8,000.00 - $15,000.00 so there was a ton of money to be made here. Let's do this! But remember our rule of thumb, "If it's too good to be true..." With the billions of people that access the internet each and everyday, please don't be so naive to think that you can flip a quick $10,000.00 because of something that you stumbled on during your recent search on Craigslist. Indeed, that is where we found this stunning deal of a lifetime where we can become rich quick. After communicating back and forth with the seller, everything was great, right? I would email him and he would get back with me so it has to be legit.

This is his initial email back to me after my inquiry:

"Hello ,

Thanks for being interested in buying my 2008 Yamaha Rhino 700FI Sport Edition 4X4, automatic transmission, Engine: 700 cc,only 1,368 miles.
The atv is like new, completely working, excelent condition , is NOT under liens or bank liabilities and it comes with a clean title.The atv is located in Pittsburgh,PA and will be shipped from there.The price that I'm asking for the atv is US $ 2,500. I have recently moved to Portugal with my job and my family. I was hoping to take the atv here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I've changed my mind. I want to sell it in US because is located and still registered there. I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by a third party.So if you decide to buy my atv or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
I look forward to hear back from you soon.
Thank you and have a great day!"

Then Jane Rasso with the email address raso44s@gmail.com wanted me to go ahead and wire transfer funds to a "third party company" so that they could hold them for the process. This is a complete scam. The third party has a full website with a host of customer testimonials and all the things that makes it look legit. If someone is asking for a wire transfer without you having the goods or services, then just pass. Be smart when shopping online. We are not saying that wire transfers are all scams, we have even done a few. But we are saying that if someone will not give you the option to do business face to face (for whatever reason), then that should be a red flag. Be smart. Get educated on the company or person that you are doing business with. If nothing else, just Google their email address. If they are legit then they should be doing something else rather than just using an email like Jane Rasso [raso44s@gmail.com] for scam purposes only.

Post a Comment

Close